Things I’ve Bought & Loved: Sackcloth & Ashes Grey Socality Collection Blanket

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

I came across Sackcloth & Ashes via Instagram and was instantly drawn in by the one-for-one model of business. The one-for-one business model was popularized in the US by TOMS Shoes, and means that for every item sold, another is donated to a person or organization in need. The day I bought my blanket, Sackcloth & Ashes was donating blankets to survivors of the Nepal earthquake, but usually they donate a blanket to your local homeless shelter upon purchase. I thought, “Oh that’s cool.” and then I looked at the dream-like photos of these Southwest style blankets… I have to note here that somewhere in my head I have a magical, free-spirited, pseudo hippie fantasy, and these fit the picture in my head. To say that I wanted one of these blankets was an understatement, so despite the $89 price tag, my fantasy and the one-for-one model made this a splurge/impulse buy that I, for once, do not regret.

This particular blanket is 100% acrylic (they also have fleece and alpaca wool in different patterns). It’s heavy and sturdy, perfect for cozy sofa reading, cool nights, or to use as an outdoor blanket for picnics, etc. It was stiff and scratchy when it arrived, so I’ve washed it once (and then hung it flat to dry), and it became softer afterwards, so I have a feeling that after a few more times, it will be perfect.

Read about the vision of Sackcloth & Ashes, and browse/shop the collection here.


*I am not associated with,  paid, or perked by the company for this post. My purpose in writing is merely to share products that I have bought for myself and love.  – E

Leave a Reply

