Explore || Newburgh, Indiana

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Historic Downtown Newburgh

Newburgh, Indiana is a quaint little river town located east of Evansville and along the Ohio River. I’d been once before a few years ago and it had a few antique stores and some beautiful historic homes, but on Saturday I was surprised to find a vibrant little community with antiques, restaurants, and shops that are really worth checking out. The town was also having its Christmas festival which gave me the shot of Christmas spirit I was in desperate need of finding!

Here are a few of the noteworthy places that I checked out for myself:

Stores:

  • Feather Your Nest – 116 State Street  – I think this is part of a group of 3 stores located within a block of one another, but this is a great vintage/consignment store. I scored a solid wood dresser for $45 and a brand new audiobook set of Girl on a Train for $1! You never know what treasures you will find and the prices are unreal.
  • Country Gentleman Antiques – 1 W. Jennings Street – A cute little antique store with a variety of stock. I was able to score some vintage art prints.
  • Flutter – 100 State Street   – This is what I call a “fashion blogger” type store. They have cute, trendy clothes and accessories.
  • Amerie 10 W Jennings Street – This was my favorite store! A new addition to Newburgh, Amerie sells “clothes with a positive purpose,”this socially-conscious store has items from many different companies like Krochet Kids, Int.

Food:

  • Cafe Arazu17 W. Jennings Street – Food is basically my love language, and this unexpected, cool little Mediterranean restaurant equaled love. I had the Hummus Platter and the Spinach Artichoke Wrap (a spin on Spanakopita), and it was incredible!

 

There were many other shops and restaurants worth checking out, that I just didn’t have time to get to and this little gem on the banks of the Ohio is worth spending a day exploring!

DSC_0805

 

Leave a Reply

