Explore || St. Louis Art Museum (SLAM)

Processed with VSCO 

St. Louis Art Museum

– 1 Fine Arts Dr., St. Louis, Missouri 63110

The St. Louis Art Museum (SLAM) sits atop a hill in Forrest Park overlooking the basin, and looking 100% as majestic as it really is. Just taking in the grandeur and architecture of it makes you believe you are about to walk into someplace great. SLAM is a place I try to visit whenever I’m in St. Louis because it has an amazing collection and it is free to the art-loving public. They have artifacts from ancient civilizations, sculptures and paintings from centuries ago to the contemporary artists of today, so there is something for every art-lover. I snapped some pictures of the pieces I loved most from this visit.

Processed with VSCO
St. Catherine

 

St. Catherine of Alexandria (ca. 1535-40) by Antonello/Antonio Gagini

I feel like Elizabeth Bennett wandering through Pemberley (the Keira movie version) when I walk through the sculptures. There is so much detail and movement all carved from such a solid and immoveable material (marble). I can’t fathom the time, effort, and patience it took to carve St. Catherine and her curled hair and flowing robes.

 

Processed with VSCO
Migrant Mother, Nipomo, CA

 

Migrant Mother, Nipomo, CA – Dorothea Lange is one of my favorite photographers and when I spotted one of her most iconic photos through a sliver of a doorway across the gallery, I was positively giddy. This piece was gifted to the museum a few months after my last visit, so it was a nice surprise to see it in person and up close. Dorothea Lange was a photographer who, for the purpose of this photo, was commissioned by the Farm Security Administration to capture images of the effects of the Great Depression.

 

Processed with VSCO
Interior at Nice

 

Interior at Nice by Henri Matisse (1919)

Opulence and the Mediterranean, painted by a master… wish I were there.

 

 

 

 

IMG_1307
Keith

 

Keith by Chuck Close (1970)

First, let me say that I’m not usually a fan of contemporary work, but I am a fan of this and, now of Chuck Close. The artist worked from a portrait and used a grid system to paint in acrylic on a 9 ft. canvas. This painting is so real looking that it takes time and scrutiny to tell that it is, in fact, painted. That’s the beauty of photorealism, I suppose. 😉

 

 

IMG_1306

 

Sightseeing by James Rosenquist (1962)

I just really love the set-up of this one. *Not 100% sure if the man in the chair is part of this, but I think it is.

 

 

 

 

And finally the pièce de résistance…

The one that completely has my heart.IMG_1334

Little Dancer of Fourteen Years by Edgar Degas (Wax Sculpture, 1880; Cast in Bronze 1920)

This bronze sculpture was posthumously cast from the wax sculpture that Degas actually showed during his lifetime. Her satin ribbon and gauze skirt are still in place and she is the sole reason I went to the museum Saturday.

You really could spend hours looking at her.

IMG_1317

I hope that you enjoyed the little mini-trip through the museum. You can view all of the St. Louis Art Museum’s collections and read about the pieces here. If you are ever in St. Louis and looking for something to do, this is well worth a few hours of your time.

 

Do you have a favorite at the St. Louis Art Museum? Let me know in the comments.

 

One thought on “Explore || St. Louis Art Museum (SLAM)”

Leave a Reply

