Where is Our Humanity?

I am struggling.

I am struggling to accept a blatant disregard of humanity. A disregard for the value of a human life.

I am struggling to accept that there are so many people who want to alter or take a life just because they have the ability, the desire, or a belief system that will condone it.

I am struggling to accept that there are people around me, people I know, who are spewing their “truth” founded in hate because it is their “First Amendment Right.”

I am struggling to accept that people who could be promoting kindness, love, justice, and tolerance, remain silent.

I am struggling to accept that this, as global citizens, is our reality.

I am struggling for a way to bring something meaningful to the table – to the conversation – that adds love, light, meaning, and value.

And I am tired of accepting what is unacceptable.

I want to take part in seeking true justice and change for those who cannot speak for themselves or who just aren’t heard.

I want to be part of a community of people who can see beyond themselves.

I want to love people for their differences and their imperfections. I want to be loved for the same.

One thought on “Where is Our Humanity?

Leave a Reply

