Harry Potter at the Symphony

My Harry Potter loving heart is so full because last night I went to see Harry Potter & The Sorcerer’s Stone in concert with the Nashville Symphony; it was simply incredible! This is part of a cinema series where you actually watch the movie while the full Symphony Orchestra plays the score live. Hearing the opening notes to Hedwig’s Theme as the movie began gave me chills, and I was so mesmerized just watching each instrument and section play their part of John Williams’ genius score. My seat was behind the orchestra, and I think it ended up being so much more amazing than watching the movie on the larger screen in the front of house because it brought the score to the forefront, and as many times as I’ve listened to it over the years, this was a completely new experience because, not only was I hearing it scored live, but I was watching the intricacies of the music as it happened. If you ever get the chance to watch any of the movies like this – do it! The Symphony is doing Chamber of Secrets in May and I’ve got my fingers crossed that I get to watch that one, too. #always

Leave a Reply

